(3rd) Third Offense DUI/DWI in New Jersey
Third offense DUI charges in the state of New Jersey carry stricter penalties than second offense DUI charges. All minimum fines and jail times increase significantly after a second offense DUI. As with the second offense, any Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level 0.08% or over carries the same weight. Previous offenses within the NJ 10 year Look back period will continue to factor into and increase the penalties.
Fines and Penalties for Third Offense DUI in NJ
- Mandatory minimum jail time of 180 days
- The only exception to this is to spend up to 90 of those 180 days in an in-patient residential alcohol or drug facility
- Mandatory license suspension for ten years with no guarantee of reinstatement. The defendant cannot drive a vehicle for any reason during this time, including for their job
- Learn about the NJ License Restoration process.
- A fine of $1,000, plus additional fees and surcharges
- Mandatory 12 to 48 hours Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
- Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) during and for up to three years after license suspension
- Installed at the driver’s expense, which includes $100 for installation and a $50-$100 monthly rental fee depending on the provider.
- New Jersey DMV surcharge of $1,000 per year for 3 years. If this offense occurs within 3 years of a previous offense the surcharge will be $1,500 per year.
Fourth Offense DUI and Beyond
Every DUI offense after the third offense carries the same penalties and fines, although judges will be less likely to show any leniency and can greatly increase the penalties past their minimum.
How Can a DUI Lawyer Help?
An experienced NJ DUI lawyer can reduce jail time and fines and review the case to see that all evidence has been provided accurately and that all procedures were properly followed by the police officer.
Contact Schneider Freiberger today to discuss your options regarding DWI charges.