(2nd) Second Offense DUI/DWI in New Jersey
A second offense DUI in the state of New Jersey incurs notably more severe penalties than the first offense DUI. Unlike first offense DUI’s, the penalties no longer vary depending on your BAC level. Anything 0.08% or over carries the same weight. In NJ, DUI charges have a Look back period of 10 years, meaning offenses within 10 years of the previous offense factor into the penalties the defendant will face and can significantly increase them. Second offenses allow less leeway in terms of penalties, for example a minimum of 2 days of jail time is now mandatory. An experienced defense attorney can have the jail time and fines reduced and ensure that the evidence was handled properly.
Fines and Penalties for Second Offense DUI in NJ
- Mandatory minimum jail time of 2 days with a maximum of 90 days
- Mandatory license suspension for two years with no guarantee of reinstatement
- Learn about the NJ License Restoration process.
- Fines between $500 and $1,000, with the possibility of additional fees and surcharges
- 30 days of community service
- 12 to 48 hours Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
- An annual auto insurance surcharge of $1,000 for 3 years
- Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) during and for up to three years after license suspension.
Ignition Interlock Devices (IID)
An IID is a device similar to a breathalyzer test. It is connected to the vehicle and the driver will be required to breathe into the device prior to starting the engine. The device will measure the driver’s blood alcohol concentration, and if the BAC is above a preset limit, the vehicle will not start. IIDs are installed at the cost of the driver, which can include $100 for installation and a $50-$100 monthly rental fee depending on the provider.
Contact Schneider Freiberger today to discuss your options regarding DWI charges.