What is Oxycodone?
Oxycodone is a narcotic ingredient in prescription pain relief medication. A variety of different prescription drugs contain oxycodone including:
- Roxicodone (or Roxycodone) – releases oxycodone into the body immediately.
- Oxycontin (Commonly misspelled as Roxycontin) – releases oxycodone into the body slowly and gradually over time.
- Percocet – immediate release oxycodone mixed with acetaminophen.
Under the Controlled Substances Act, the DEA lists oxycodone as a Schedule II drug, the same classification as cocaine, morphine or methamphetamine. Schedule II drugs are defined by three major factors:
- Having a high potential for abuse.
- Having a currently acceptable medical use in the United States, no matter how restricted that use is. Oxycodone is used for severe pain relief.
- The potential for severe physical or psychological dependence.
As with any Schedule II drug, it is illegal for anyone to possess, use, or distribute oxycodone without the specific instruction of a doctor. The penalties for oxycodone possession in New Jersey are strict. If you are facing an oxycodone charge, the experienced lawyers at Schneider Freiberger can defend your rights and get you the best possible results for your case.
Oxycodone Possession charges in New Jersey
Like other drug charges, oxycodone charges in NJ vary depending on the amount you are found in possession of. Keep in mind that different drugs, for example roxicodone and percocet, can have have different levels of oxycodone. Since oxycodone is a prescription drug, charges can also depend on the way you obtained it.
- Possession of 4 or fewer pills (or doses) without a prescription – a Fourth Degree Crime
- Up to 18 months in jail.
- Fines of up to $10,000.
- Obtaining a prescription by forgery or other fraud – a Third Degree Crime
- Up to 5 years in jail.
- Fines of up to $100,000.
- Possession of between 5 and 99 pills – a Third Degree Crime
- Up to 5 years in jail.
- Fines of up to $200,000.
- Possession of 100 or more pills with intent to distribute – a Second Degree Crime
- Up to 10 years in jail.
- Fines of up to $300,000
Oxycodone possession charges, including roxicodone and oxycontin, have severe repercussions in the state of NJ. The lawyers at Schneider Freiberger have experience in defending clients with all levels of oxycodone and other prescription drug charges. Contact us today to discuss your options for getting the best outcome for your case.