Assault Charges in New Jersey
Are you facing NJ assault charges? Don’t face them alone, the criminal defense lawyers of Schneider Freiberger p.c. can help.We believe that one of the most important components of a successful criminal defense strategy is to educate the client. Once you know about the law, your rights, and your legal options, you will be empowered to make crucial decisions regarding your future. With the help of our firm, you can learn about your rights relating to:
- Aggravated Assault
- Simple Assault
- Disorderly Conduct
- Domestic Violence
- Hindering Prosecution
- Restraining Orders
- Obstruction of Justice
- Terroristic Threats
- PTI(Pre-Trial Intervention)
- Death By Auto (Vehicular Homicide)
- Criminal Trespassing
- Resisting Arrest
- Crimes Against Children
- No Early Release Act (NERA)
- Sexual Assault Charges
Assault is considered a violent crime and is a serious offense in New Jersey that can have very serious consequences and can result in prison time if you are convicted. An assault will be charged under the following circumstances:
- Attempt to cause injury knowingly or recklessly to another
- Negligently causing injury with a deadly weapon to another
- Threatening to put someone in fear of imminent injury
- Recklessly pointing a firearm at another person
Simple assault charges are usually considered a disorderly persons offense and can result in up to 6 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. These types of cases are handled in the municipal court of the town or city where the offense occurred. The standard cases of simple assault involve mutual fighting or cases with very minor injuries.
Aggravated assault charges can be charged in the second or third degree depending on the circumstances and severity of the injuries involved. An assault of a police officer is always considered an aggravated assault regardless of the severity of the injuries to the officer.
- Second degree aggravated assault: 5-10 years in prison; up to $150,000 in fines
- Third degree aggravated assault: 3-5 years in prison; up to $15,000 in fines
Aggravated assault is a violent crime subject to New Jersey’s No Early Release Act (NERA), which means that if you are convicted to a State Prison sentence, you must serve 85% of the sentence before parole eligibility.
Defense Against Assault Charges and Violent Crimes
Hiring a defense attorney is crucial to limiting the damage to your life that an assault case can cause. Everyone makes mistakes–having a lawyer who knows the system can save your life. You need a lawyer who knows how to take a case to trial and mount a proper defense or craft a plea agreement that will help maintain your freedom and your family.